The Australian Financial Review 100 Women of Influence 2018 category winners revealed

by Sally Patten

A leading figure in the Australian #MeToo movement, the founder of a blockchain energy trading start-up and an expert in artificial intelligence and customer experience were among the women who were recognised in Sydney last night as part of this year’s The Australian Financial Review 100 Women of Influence awards, presented by Qantas.

At a gala dinner at Sydney’s Town Hall, 11 women received awards for their achievements across 10 categories, such as young leaders, board and management, public policy and diversity and inclusion. Megan Davis, UNSW Pro-Vice Chancellor, indigenous, was announced the overall winner. Naba Alfayadh won the young leader category.

More than 550 guests attended the dinner, including NSW Premier Gladys Berejiklian, Fairfax Media chief Greg Hywood, White Gallery owner and philanthropist Judith Neilson, former Sex Discrimination Minister Elizabeth Broderick, former David Jones chief executive Paul Zahra and OzHarvest founder Ronni Kahn.

Other guests included ACOSS chief executive Cassandra Goldie, director Belinda Gibson, Rosemary Sinclair, chief executive of Energy Consumers Australia and UNSW deputy Vice-Chancellor, international, Iain Watt.

The awards are in their sixth year and were this year expanded to include an Alumni Projects program, an initiative designed to galvanise the 600 award-winning influencers, who have been recognised over the years in the 100 Women of Influence awards.

So far, there are two projects in train – the Catch-Up project is a pilot program aimed at securing futures for vulnerable older women, and Women for Election Australia works with school-age girls to encourage and inspire them to think of politics as a career.

  • Innovation: Dr Jemma Green
  • Young leader: Naba Alfayadh
  • Board and Management: Jingmin Qian
  • Social Enterprise and Not For Profit: Tanya Jackson-Vaughan and Tracey Spicer
  • Arts, Culture and Sport: Anne Bunde-Birouste
  • Public Policy: Megan Davis
  • Diversity and Inclusion: Catia Malaquias
  • Global: Kate Swaffer
  • Business and Entrepreneur: Dr Catriona Wallace
  • Local and Regional: Aunty Gail Allison
 From left, OzHarvest founder Ronni Kahn and Naomi Simpson.
From left, OzHarvest founder Ronni Kahn and Naomi Simpson. Wolter Peeters
 From left, Elizabeth Broderick and Miranda Stewart.
From left, Elizabeth Broderick and Miranda Stewart. Wolter Peeters